my fave superbowl ad: fedex’s “pigeon carriers”

I don’t know much about the Superbowl. I don’t know who gets the most baskets or what the point spread is or what’s at first and down. All I know is that the guy on the team that was supposed to win is a Stetson model and he hosted SNL once, and I wouldn’t mind if he made out with David Beckham sometime. They both play football… right?

What I do know about the Superbowl is that it’s the biggest day of the year for TV advertising. According to CNN, the average price for a 30-second spot this year was US $2.7 million. That’s a lot.

Everybody blogs about these ads for days after. They get analyzed, there are spreadsheets involved, the spots get torn apart. It’s an almost post-Oscar® like feeding frenzy of nitpicking the hows and whys and whats of everything that went down.

My fave spot of the whole deal was Fedex’s “Pigeon Carriers”. Blog reaction was mixed, but it’s been a couple days and this is the only one I’m still thinking about. It’s like Cloverfield with pigeons…

Whatcha Thinkin?

