benedetto bufalino: urban escape.

I like fish. I like random shit. So this is right up my alley.

To help celebrate the Lyon Light Festival, France-based artist and designer Benedetto Bufalino created Evasion Urbaine (Urban Escape). Basically, he turned an abandoned phone booth into a big ass aquarium. It’s a little bit awesome.

actu3_1.jpg

Created with lighting designer Benoît Deseille, the artist explains that “With the advent of the mobile telephone, telephone booths lie unused. We rediscover this glass cage transformed into an aquarium, full of exotically coloured fish; an invitation to escape and travel.“

And throw crackers inside, I’m assuming. Or, since it’s Lyon… dried baguette.

2098315383_0039a4193a.jpg

2099096106_c218ea8a5c.jpg

This reminds me of the 50 Nancys I had when I was little. I had 50 Neon Tetras in a tank in my room. I decided that, for ease of communication, it would be best to name them all Nancy. It would have been far too frustrating to try and get Roger’s attention when Martha was in the way, swimming around Lou-Anne and Bartholomew. And if any of those little fuckers decided to hunker down behind the aquatic spaceman guy or the little plastic castle, there would be some serious mass miscommunication going on.

So, it was Nancy for everybody. My parents warned me they would die if I didn’t clean the tank, but I was in Grade Three and didn’t give a shit. Eventually, all the Nancy’s went the way of their ancestors – through the toilet bowl into the big gigantic French phone booth modern art aquarium in the sky.

Goodbye Nancy x 50. My heart will go on…

Comments

  1. amber j says:

    you are the funniest person in the world(besides me)

  2. That is so cool. Makes me miss my aquarium.

Trackbacks

  1. […] benedetto bufalino: urban escape. « shape+colour. […]

  2. […] cute vases for shrimp + plants.  Also, in checking out one of my other happy blog areas, I noticed this.  Design plus fishies.  Yay!  And yes, it is a sort of escape, a little breather from our […]

Whatcha Thinkin?

