it’s arrived: sony’s “foam city”.

I suppose it had to happen sometime. The other ads were too iconic and the buzz was too big. I suppose even Mozart had an off day now and then. Even Rembrandt. Even Tori Amos…

If I had to sum up my response to the first of the Foam City ads it a single word, it would be “meh”. I’m suspicious though and I think there’s something up their sleeves still. The spot is short, really almost more of a teaser compared to the others – it’s only a minute long. We haven’t seen the end of any of this yet. Maybe this foam thing is all an elaborate ruse, and they’ve really filled a Hawaiian volcano with multi-coloured confetti and streamers and filmed it erupting glitter into the air while the rest of were watching suds in Miami. Maybe?

Despite the fact that I’m a little underwhelmed, it’s still better than almost any other advertising you’ll see. My reaction to this is a lot like watching “Eyes Wide Shut” – bad Kubrick is still better than almost anything else. Being a little less of a genius is still more genius than most of us. And with that, here’s the spot…

(Agency: Fallon)

Comments

  1. ‘My reaction to this is a lot like watching “Eyes Wide Shut” – bad Kubrick is still better than almost anything else.’

    It is because of statements like these that I dig your point of view and keep coming back. I applaud the above quote!

Trackbacks

  1. […] up their sleeves… again. Coming hot off the unreal buzz that continued to build over “Foam City”, a new video trailer went up on YouTube today promising that “something” is coming […]

Whatcha Thinkin?

