oneword.

Something amazing has happened today. Truly, gloriously, angel-trumpetingly amazing. If I was Mahalia Jackson, I would literally be breaking into a deep-throated chorus of “Oh Happy Day”. That’s just how happy today is.

A bit of history. A few years ago, I stumbled upon oneword. I wasn’t as much of a writer/geek/internet whore as I am now. shape+colour was just a twinkle in my eye. Beautifully simple, each day oneword gives you – wait for it –  one word and you have 60 seconds to free-flow write about it. Be literal, be poetic, be non-sensical, be Seussian – it’s all up to you. I went to oneword religiously, daily, without fail. Something about the creative simplicity of a little poetic outburst and it’s accompanying mind-drain was therapuetic, cathartic, and mildly euphoric.

And then one dark, evil day, oneword was down. The error message was non-sensical, not a site-based message but just a random geek speak. There was no soothing reassurance, no explanation, no time frame of it’s return. I didn’t realize how much I liked… nay, loved… oneword until I suddenly couldn’t have it. I checked it a few more times and begrudgingly let it go for the day.

Except that it was down the next day too. And that’s why my deepest fears were realized, as each day for the next two weeks I went to oneword and the same completely unhelpful message of broken nothingness still sat there. Eventually, for my own sanity, I had to give up. I checked a few more times, randomly, over the following weeks but after a while it just became annoying. The fucking thing was just gone.

And so, as it is with so many things that are worth loving, oneword slipped out of my life as quietly as it had slipped into it. Until last night. When, for whatever reason and I have no idea why, I went to oneword and it was back. Glory.

Here’s my oneword for today. The word was “substance”:

Created by Arvind Singh, not only was the site back up but with an explanation on his blog about what had happened: server switch error. God damn servers. I’m trying not to think about it too much because I don’t want to jinx it. My beloved oneword is back in action. That’s all that really matters.

Comments

  1. thank you for this… what a brilliant website!

Whatcha Thinkin?

