michel gondry + leos carax + bong joon-ho: tokyo!

There is too much goodness here going on for me to handle. I would see anything Michel Gondry touches, because I basically worship him, but add in Leos Carax and Bong Joon-ho and this just totally blows me away.

The film’s site hands over one of the greatest film synposes of all time:

“In ‘TOKYO!’, three of the world’s greatest filmmakers come together for an omnibus triptych examining the nature of one unforgettable city as it’s shaped by the disparate people who work, live (and even run amok!) inside one enormous, constantly evolving, densely populated Japanese megalopolis – the ravishing and inimitable Tokyo. Triptych, rhapsody, psychogeography, urban valentine, freak show, mindwalk and many other things, ‘TOKYO!’ is a fantasy in three movements that will make you see one of the world’s greatest cities – if not any cities – in unpredictable new ways.”

Holy shit. You can’t tell me you don’t want to see this.

Comments

  1. Justin says:

    The Carax section was beyond satire. Surreal, but grounded. Just freakin amazing.

    I can’t wait for the dvd.

    I think it comes out June 30 (www.tokyothemovie.com).
    I preordered it on Amazon, through the site. I can’t wait.
    Better that NY Stories. Best tryptich since Amorres Perroes.

  2. Wow, I can only barely say those words. It looks epic, I can’t wait!

  3. Go see carax’s “hymn to merde”, on youtube

  4. This just completely made my day!!!!! I am so exited about this!!! Thanks for posting it, it looks like it’s going to be amazing.

Trackbacks

  1. Tokyo Video says:

    […] if (vbc) vbc.style.visibility = ‘hidden’; e.style.backgroundColor = ‘#fff’ }); }); today michel gondry + leos carax … trackback from post […There is too much goodness here going on for me to handle. I would see […]

Whatcha Thinkin?

