david o’reilly: please say something.

My brain just exploded.

I’ve been following David O’Reilly’s compression work (highlighted in my post on Datamoshing – a term which O’Reilly himself openly despises – a little while ago), but his recent short “Please Say Something” just completely blew me away. Described as “A troubled relationship between a Cat and Mouse set in the distant Future”, I have never seen anything quite like this before. It’s so digital, and yet so human; an incredible blend of skill and story. I totally forgot where I was while I watched it. Absolutely engrossing.

pss-large

Vodpod videos no longer available.

You can also check out an interview with O’Reilly at Motionographer.

Comments

  1. Wonderful short! Watching was somewhat like Déjà vu.

  2. Lovely. Although it seems that it’s inspired by 2046. The writer, the room (2106), love and despair.

  3. nicolejuen says:

    nice nice nice post, jeremy! you have a great eye.

    you have inspired me to blog for my students.

    all the best.

Trackbacks

  1. […] Lake” is a collaboration between one of my favourite directors, David O’Reilly, and Jon Klassen and it’s […]

  2. […] proof check out his brilliant “Please Say Something”, which deservedly was just chosen as one of the 5 finalists for the Cartoon d’Or 2009 […]

Whatcha Thinkin?

