terri timely: synesthesia.

This is officially one of my top ten favourite short films of all time. And I’ve seen a lot of shorts. That’s just how kick ass this is.

So, this isn’t news to anyone who know me, but I’m obsessed with colour and all of its effects on us; in art and motion, and also psychologically and emotionally. I’m totally fascinated with Synesthesia, a “neurologically based phenomenon in which stimulation of one sensory or cognitive pathway leads to automatic, involuntary experiences in a second sensory or cognitive pathway.”

synesthesia

It’s an incredible sensory mix-up. Some people can hear colours. Some taste words. Some read in sounds. Terri Timely (made up of directing duo Ian Kibbey and Corey Creasy) have created an absolutely stellar film interpretation of synesthesia. It’s quirky, lush, imagination run wild. Fascinating at each step and totally unpredictable, this is totally up my alley and blew me right away.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Comments

  1. Nice. As a synesthete, I’m always jealous of how non-synesthetes imagine it works. It’s cool, but not that cool. 🙂

  2. weird, in a good way

  3. Awesome sauce. Wow. I have always grooved on the concept of synaesthic stuff, now I have this.

    Word.

    Have you seen the new Obama Superhero Cartoon?

    Brilliant stuff:

    http://fullbodytransplant.wordpress.com/2009/06/20/obama-superhero-cartoon/

Trackbacks

  1. […] 23 09 2009 I first started following directing duo Terri Timely after their insane video “Synesthesia”, easily one of my top ten for […]

  2. […] terri timely: sysnesthesia. This is officially one of my top ten favourite short films of all time. And I’ve seen a lot of shorts. […] […]

Whatcha Thinkin?

