david o’reilly + u2: i’ll go crazy if i don’t go crazy tonight.

Irish-born, Berlin-based animator and film-maker David O’Reilly is a full out genius. He’s one of my favourite animators; his work is fully next level and it forces your brain to adjust to his sense of scale and dimension. You could fight it and convince yourself that it’s simplistic, or you can work to understand it and then fully realize the scope of his genius. Like the highest forms of art, he relentlessly pushes his medium forward.

For proof check out his brilliant “Please Say Something”, which deservedly was just chosen as one of the 5 finalists for the Cartoon d’Or 2009 competition from the European Assosciation of Animation Film.

This kind of surprised me, but his latest release is a video for U2’s “I’ll Go Crazy If I Don’t Go Crazy Tonight.” This is a definite collision of the avante-garde and the mainstream. I’m not really into U2, but, and I’ll admit I’m totally biased here, I think O’Reilly’s animation raises a fairly banal song into something far greater that it would be on its own.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Comments

  1. JACK OTTER says:

    GREAT , HE JUST WON THE CARTOON D’OR AWARD

  2. James says:

    Also, according to Drawn! http://drawn.ca/2009/07/22/oreilly-and-klassen-take-on-u2/ O’Reilly teamed with Jon Klassen http://www.burstofbeaden.com/ on the design of this music video, which may also contribute to why this video is so great.

Trackbacks

  1. […] their work together on the video for U2’s “I’ll Go Crazy If I Don’t Go Crazy Tonight”, the heart-achingly exquisite “Black Lake” is a collaboration between one of my […]

Whatcha Thinkin?

