robert kilman + safwat saleem: and everything was alright.

I realize that I’m a massive dork. But I can’t help it. Following an important day in the life of a large stuffed bear (named “Bear”), Robert Kilman and Safwat Saleem’s “And Everything Was Alright” is one of the most poignant and lovely shorts I’ve ever seen.

alright

There’s a purity of emotion connected to children’s things. Kids live in a universe so fully realized to them yet still nascent to grown-ups. Sometimes we forget how deeply we felt when we were little.  Bear is an amalgamation of a memory and a reality; is he young but living in an adult world, or is he old and continues to nurture his dreams despite his life? I think it’s both. Bear is an adult embodiment of our childhood inner-life. We carry those dreams with us no matter how old we grow or how far away they seem.

The sweet simplicity of this short broke my heart and then quietly fixed it again. I have been this bear. I know this bear. And I, too, have searched for my rocket ship…

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Part of an integrated series experiences to totally bring the story to life, “An Everything Was Alright” also shines as a children’s book, online, and an art exhibition.

Comments

  1. its very funy. i like it.

Whatcha Thinkin?

