francisca valenzuela + smog.tv: peces.

Crazy cool vid for Francisca Valenzuela’s “Peces.” Not a clue what she’s saying, but the stylization and animation in this vid is incredible.

Google tells me “peces” translates as “clay wetted for making mud walls.” Which doesn’t sound quite as incendiary as I was imagining from the cold frenzy of the vid. So maybe it’s wrong.  Any Spanish speakers out there; can you let me know in the comments what the song is all about? Would love to know.

UPDATE: So thanks to some Spanish-savvy readers, it turns out “peces” actually means “fish” (I’m guessing it’s a Latin-based connection with “Pisces”, which is interesting to me because my star sign is Pisces). Thankfully, that’s way more interesting that wet clay walls. Thanks to everyone for their info on this and to “the other Francisca” (coincidence? maybe, maybe not) for her translation down in the comments!

Comments

  1. If you want to keep up on all the news about Fran, please visit my fan site for her. I’m an English speaker, so my Spanish isn’t perfect,but I love Fran’s songs and have fun with the site. Currently, it’s in spanish, but you can translate it via Google. = ) Gracias!

  2. your other francisca says:

    perhaps a tad closer than clay is fish…
    I’m sure this isn’t perfect, but hopefully also a bit closer than the auto translate…

    I’ve dedicated much time, energy and love
    it that thing, in that thing that does not have enough worth/value
    I hope she chokes herself with her crystal necklace
    I hope she trips with those heels while walking

    If there are so many fish in the sea
    Why do I always catch the one that doesn’t let me swim
    Or one that has too many [ormas?] hanging
    Maybe she’s pretty if you like hollow smiles,
    coquettish glances and perfect legs walking

    I hate that I feel a heat for you,
    even though you’ll steal my heart and split it in two
    and eat it and digest it and say lightly
    It doesn’t matter if you don’t feel the same as me
    no longer, I no longer like it if you ignore me or invite me
    if you don’t shout my name when we kiss in [making] love

    If there are so many fish in the sea
    Why do I always catch the one that doesn’t let me swim
    Or one that has too many [ormas?] hanging
    Maybe she’s pretty if you like hollow smiles,
    coquettish glances and perfect legs walking

    Remember me like the one with a nasty disposition
    Remember me, remember me like the bitter witch
    that yapped/nagged and didn’t flirt when it was needed

    If there are so many fish in the sea
    Why do I always catch the one that doesn’t let me swim
    Or one that has too many [ormas?] hanging
    Maybe she’s pretty if you like hollow smiles,
    coquettish glances and perfect legs walking

  3. conyfera says:

    “peces” refers to fish …. The song talks about that though one has the possibility of loving for a good person, you choose at least indicated, das not receive, and besides, he it ends with one that is not worth it

    corus
    If there are many fish in the sea
    Why always fishing (catch)
    He who will not let me swim
    Or one that hang many more? (has more women)

  4. there you go, champ. http://j.mp/2lAAjc

Whatcha Thinkin?

