mastercard: “studious pupil”.

Mercifully moving away from the whole “Sheets – $5, I.V. tubing – $50, Being there when they pull the plug on Grandma… priceless” juggernaut (while still building the brand equity of the entire “priceless” notion, which I actually do like…), I enjoy this spot because it’s not working quite so hard at being an ad. People are going to bitch about it just being a beautiful, interesting, eye-catching piece of film. And what’s so wrong with that?

Some people are boring, but those that aren’t will like this ad. It made me like MasterCard more, and that’s precisely the point.

(Agency: McCann Erickson – New York, Director: Christian Bevilacqua @ Therapy Films)

Comments

  1. i agree with harry. Yucckkk

  2. Former McCanner says:

    I don’t get it. Visually, it’s a rip off of Andreas Gursky’s photography. The lazy/curious eye doesn’t make any sense. Ads are supposed to create awareness, build preference and induce usage of products. I cannot see how this would make anyone more likely to choose Mastercard.

  3. I think it is a great ad, with just the right amount of quirkiness and nostalgia. But the link between the “curious eye” and the priceless notion is just a teensy bit tenuous.

  4. I think the commercial is awkward to watch and inane. But then again, I’m a boring person, so this commentary is to be expected.

Whatcha Thinkin?