david shrigley for pringle of scotland.

David Shrigley is an animation and illustration icon. One of the few animators whose work is so individual that you can usually immediately recognize it’s Shrigley from a single still, his sparsely drawn, seemingly haphazard illustration work is  legendary.

I was a little surprised and worried when I came across a video by Shrigley for luxury knitwear brand Pringle of Scotland. In January I’d seen on one of my favourite blogs, Kitsune Noir, that Pringle had commissioned one of my favourite photographers, Ryan McGinley, to make a film showcasing the Spring/Summer 2010 line that featured the terrifyingly austere Tilda Swinton wandering the misty Scottish highlands in various knits. To me, it was dull and, while beautiful, a waste of McGinley’s phenomenal talents. I was nervous that Shrigley’s work wouldn’t shine either.

I didn’t need to worry. Not only is the video quintessential Shrigley, but it’s totally entertaining; I laughed out loud more than once. Turns out Pringle of Scotland has a refreshing sense of humour, not only about itself but about the entire fashion industry, and they’re not afraid to show it.

Via Motionographer

post to facebook : add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank

Comments

  1. hahaha… I thought it was great. I want to buy one. Models are horribly skinny like skeletons.

  2. Interesting. I totally agree with you the McGinley’s film is gorgeous, but I just found it sort of hollow. I’m also afraid of Tilda Swinton, so I might just be biased.

  3. writersblokc says:

    Not sure about this one, to be honest. I mean it does get the message across, pringley makes good jumpers, and it’s funny. But I think McGinley’s film was more interesting – yes, a bit boring after the first couple of minutes, but utterly beautifully shot and acted. Plus, you get to see some of the clothes that really fits the mood of the film.

Whatcha Thinkin?